How to store live object

• Hey guys, I'm new to screeps.

Recently, I was trying to define a class and create an instance of it to make my code more flexible. But I was stuck in the problem of "not able to store a live object in Memory" as screeps document mentioned.

I tried to store object into an array or gobal object outside of function loop, but only found out that screeps will clear everything out every certain amount of ticks. Any ideas of how to keep a live object?

I would be much convenient if Memory can store an object. 😕

• You should store the identifiers in memory and then use Game.getObjectById() to retrieve the live object.

• Another way to view the API is there are no live game objects, only a snapshot of what internal game object looked like at the start of the tick.
    This means using a stale object is totally a thing. A stale StructureController is nearly identical, a stale Creep however is much less forgiving.

The good news is Game.getObjectById is really really fast. So just store game ids and create an object for them when needed.

• What deft said.

I would also point out that you don't directly change the objects you reference with Game.getObjectById() anyway... you REGISTER AN INTENT that the system then uses to change the object AFTER your code runs. So at the end of every tick... any object you have stored is going to be stale.

You can't have direct control over these objects... if you DID, you could just do stuff like change their hit points on the fly. Your script is like a proxy, once a tick, it runs. It has a shapshot of the current state of the objects, then it orders changes to those objects by issuing intents (Through the API calls.) at the next tick, it gets a snapshot of the updated objects.

• Thanks for responding my question.

Its good to know that I can only store object id to Memory, but what if I want to store the object (lets say an instance of a custom class) other than game object into memory?