Is there a way to minify Screeps files?

• I have tried to use a standard JS minifyer but it does not recognise the filter => from lodashJS. Has anyone been able to do this. It would really help my CPU use. Thanks!

• Culture

I've had no problem minifying with Uglify, but I also haven't seem much benefit from doing it so I stopped.

• As a noob I'm just guessing here, but I don't think the CPU cost is based on the number of lines or characters of code.  I think instead it is based on the number of function calls you make and for which functions you call (functions have different costs roughly based on how much real CPU work they do).

I think this is true because I've seen my CPU cost fluctuate based on the frequency at which I run a certain module.  I have corrected the issue by adjusting the frequency using a little modulus math:

if (Game.time % 25 != 0) return;

...not everything needs to run at every tick.

Hope that helps.

• Culture

bones1999 - 

When you "require" a file it has to get parsed. The more characters it has the longer, in theory, it will take to parse it (even if those characters are whitespace). The "require" statement does cache the results, so you do not pay that parsing cost each tick. However, every time the global object resets or you upload your code there will be a CPU usage spike as that cache will be empty. In that case it may be beneficial to minify the code.

• tedivm,

I found this article, which explained enough for me to have a good idea as to how it works: http://support.screeps.com/hc/en-us/articles/204332302-How-does-CPU-limit-work

What they really care about is how long it takes for all your scrips to execute per "tick," or player turn.  They must capture the current time before starting your scripts (calling module.exports.loop), then capture the time after it completes, calculate the delta, etc.  Your CPU limit explicitly defines the number of milliseconds they will allow your scripts to run.