Update Game object during tick || Explain order of ops in tutorial

• Hello!

This is coming from a complete newbie to Screeps, so this may need to be taken with a grain (or handful) of salt..

If your code goes something like:

if (!spawner.isSpawning) { spawner.spawnCreep(body, name, {memory: {role: miner}}); }
    if (!spawner.isSpawning) { spawner.spawnCreep(body, name, {memory: {role: harvester}}); }
    if (!spawner.isSpawning) { spawner.spawnCreep(body, name, {memory: {role: upgrader}}); }

This will not execute as expected. Properties like isSpawning do not update as soon as the spawnCreep function is called successfully. It seems to only be updated after the whole tick is processed. I'm sure this is far easier to maintain and there's a good chance this has been discussed many times, but I wanted to bring it up anyhow since it nearly turned me away from the game before I even finished the tutorial.

So, as the concept isn't too hard to consider and like I said, has more than likely already been discussed/debated yet ended up where it's at anyway, my true suggestion is simply to explain this within the tutorial. Put it in as a step 6 or even include it as part of automating the spawning process. You could even use my example so as to explain this concept and why when all three can be called successfully, it's only the upgrader that gets created (last in first out).

Thanks for reading and I hope it's helpful to someone whether it gets addressed somehow or not.