Functional Roles

• Hi, community!

I’m totally new to Screeps and I have quite a lot of fun.

I just wanted to share my approach to creep roles implementation in functional style. The idea is that roles could be implemented as functions, returning boolean value of whether this role is being fulfilled. This way we can define prioritized chain of roles for each creep. For example, a creep with WORK and CARRY can fulfill the role “repair” if it sees something that needs repairing, and fall back to “harvest” role if there is nothing to repair.
    This chain could be gracefully implemented using modern JS features.

Here is an example of implementation:

var roles = {};

roles.repair = function() {
        var target = this.pos.findClosestByRange(FIND_MY_STRUCTURES, { // NOTE: FIND_MY_STRUCTURES does not return constructed walls
            filter: (obj) => obj.hits < obj.hitsMax
        });

if (target) {
            if (this.repair(target) == OK) {
                return true;
            }
            if (this.carry.energy < this.carryCapacity) {
                // Go take some energy from base
                var base = Game.spawns.Spawn1;
                if (base.transferEnergy(this) == OK || this.moveTo(base) == OK) {
                    return true;
                }
            }
            if (this.moveTo(target) == OK) {
                return true;
            }
        }

return false; // nothing to repair, role is not fulfilled
    };

roles.harvest = function() {
        // Drop all energy to base
        if (this.carry.energy == this.carryCapacity) {
            var base = Game.spawns.Spawn1;
            if (this.transferEnergy(base) == OK || this.moveTo(base) == OK) {
                return true;
            }
        }

var source = this.pos.findClosestByPath(FIND_SOURCES);

if (source) {
            if (this.harvest(source) == OK || this.moveTo(source) == OK) {
                return true;
            }
        }